Dion van Oers

This week’s journal, Dion van Oers – Consultant

Every week a board member or consultant will talk you through a small biography, and more importantly, a little insight into their life, what parts of their agenda are devoted to time and what parts aren’t.

This week it is my turn to give an insight into my life as a consultant at TIME and beyond.

My name is Dion van Oers, 22 years old, born and raised in the wonderful province of Brabant. My way to university wasn’t the most obvious one and it all started with a vocational degree in international wholesale and trade. After which, I obtained a Bachelor’s degree in International Business at Avans University of Applied sciences. 

At my time at Avans, my first international experiences were created. I had the opportunity to work with people from all around the world and spend two semesters abroad. The first semester I did an internship at DuPont in the greenest are of Spain: “Asturias”. The second semester I went back to Spain, but got the city life experience in the wonderful city of Barcelona. Even though I went to Spain twice, I had the opportunity to work with people with all kinds of backgrounds and nationalities.

After finishing my Bachelor’s degree, I still didn’t feel like I was quite done studying yet. So, I decided to start with the pre master programme at Tilburg University. After successfully passing all courses, I finally started with the master programme Marketing Management. I first heard about time during this master. In fact, I knew one of the board members from my previous studies and here enthusiasm really got me thinking more and more about joining TIME.

Following a period of hesitation and doubt, mainly due to the big workload that comes with being part of TIME, I decided to apply. TIME gives students the opportunity to expand their international experiences and to challenge themselves, which is exactly what I was looking for. And this is where we are today, part of one of the most enthusiastic team of young, soon to be, professionals.

Besides TIME and following a master programme, I also have two side jobs. One of them is in my old hometown where I work as a waiter. To be honest this is more of a hobby than a job for me, as it always feels like coming home. The other job is being a sales assistant at a furniture store, in the city I currently live in. As I am writing this, I realize that I haven’t mentioned me moving to Breda to live closer to University.

Sometimes it is hard to juggle work and university, while still maintaining somewhat of a social life. But in the end, it is all worth it.

Maybe you just finished reading this small biography and it got you really interested, enthusiastic or curious about TIME (or me), then go ahead and let’s connect on LinkedIn! I’d always be happy to start a conversation or to provide you with more information